Hong Kong – Cartoon Network unveiled a first look at character artwork featuring the original arbiters of girl power; Blossom, Bubbles and Buttercup from the all-new series, The Powerpuff Girls.

The reimagined series, about three girls juggling school and saving the world before bedtime, is slated for a 2016 global launch and will include a brand-new television series, produced by Cartoon Network Studios, and a full licensing programme that will roll out across all domestic and international regions.

Featured at a Cartoon Network Enterprises event at the Las Vegas Licensing Expo were the multi-talented voice actors portraying the lead characters from the upcoming animated series including − Amanda Leighton as Blossom, Kristen Li as Bubbles, Natalie Palamides as Buttercup and Tom Kenny, who will be reprising his role as the Narrator/Mayor.

The new series will be executive produced by Nick Jennings, who won an Emmy® Award for his work on Cartoon Network’s Adventure Time, and Bob Boyle creator of Wow! Wow! Wubbzy! will co-executive produce. Rounding out the creative team is a diverse group of talented artists and writers, many of whom grew up watching the original series and come with a special affinity for the characters and overall project.