This year, the appearances of Hollywood filmmakers such as John Lasseter and Tim Burton and Japanese filmmakers such as Takeshi Kitano and Hideaki Anno are confirmed as well as other guests from around the world. The organisers are planning many event opportunities to meet them such as the opening carpet ceremony, events at Roppongi Hills Arena, stage appearances and Q&A to bring the film festival more excitement.

To lead off 2020 Tokyo Olympic, TIFF will transmit “TOKYO” to all over the world. Details of the special guests are listed below. The 27th TIFF will be held from 23-31 October, at Roppongi Hills, TOHO Cinemas Nihonbashi and other venues in Tokyo.

The 27th Tokyo International Film Festival Guest List 

International Competition Jury:

James Gunn, John H. Lee, Robert Luketic, Eric Khoo, Debbie Mcwilliams, Hiroshi Shinagawa

SAMURAI Award recipients:

Takeshi Kitano, Tim Burton

Opening Film Big Hero 6:

John Lasseter (Executive Producer), Don Hall (Director), Chris Williams (Director), Roy Conli (Producer), Miho Kanno, Kotaro Koizumi

Closing Film PARASYTE:


The World of Hideaki Anno:

Hideaki Anno (Director)

PIKMIN Short Movies:

Shigeru Miyamoto (Executive Producer)

Pale Moon:

Daihachi Yoshida (Director), Rie Miyazawa, Sosuke Ikematsu


Mamoru Oshii(General Director)